A few thoughts (and predictions) on American Idol

americanidolout

While I do fear that a fair few of my fellow TGR bloggers will find it difficult to even read this post, I thought I’d share my thoughts on American Idol and give my official predictions for 2009. I began watching American Idol regularly last year, and despite my incorrect tip for David Archuleta, I’d like to think that my predictions are generally quite accurate. Followers of the show will know that Matt Giraud was voted off from the show earlier today (after guest Quentin Tarantino mentored the Top 7 on the previous night), but was saved by judges Randy Jackson, Kara DioGuardi, Paula Abdul and Simon Cowell at the last minute, which means two contestants will be eliminated next week.

6th/7th: Lil Rounds and Anoop Desai tick TGR Prediction correct!
5th: Matt Giraud tick TGR Prediction correct!
4th: Danny Gokey
3rd: Kris Allen
2nd: Allison Iraheta
1st: Adam Lambert

I do agree with The New York Times’ winner prediction, because it appears Adam’s popularity gets bigger and bigger every week. He is also a very talented singer and entertainer. Allison is also very talented, and I feel Paula’s “special sauce” comment (while somewhat tenuous) is accurate. Kris I feel has also gained a large fan base and his videos certainly show him as a down to earth and experienced individual. He is certainly very marketable, which, honestly speaking, is really what the show’s about. I’ve placed Danny Gokey at fourth in the competition because I feel he has become a little predictable, and while he is a very good singer, does get lost amongst Allison and Adam. I agree with the judges’ decision to save Matt but I also believe that fifth is an appropriate place for him, and something to be very proud of (especially considering he was only given a place after the Wild Card show). Meanwhile, I really consider Rounds’ and Desai’s performances to be quite lacklustre in the past fortnight, and this will lead to their removal after the Disco theme next week. – r.

add to del.icio.usAdd to Blinkslistadd to furlDigg itadd to ma.gnoliaStumble It!add to simpyseed the vineTailRankpost to facebook

1 Response to “A few thoughts (and predictions) on American Idol”


  1. 1 sowhatifiamgoy April 17, 2009 at 8:18 am

    My prediction:

    1) Adam
    2) Alison
    3) Danny

    Why?

    Adam is head and shoulders above the others in stagecraft as well as musical ability.

    Alison has just too damn good for someone that young.

    Danny is saving his best for the end, although “Jesus take the Wheel” came close.


Leave a Reply

We’re moving…

the green room blog has moved to http://tgrblog2beta.tumblr.com/. Our current address will be moved later this month.

TGR Links

tgr-icon-youtube-09tgr-icon-twitter-09tgr-icon-flickr-09tgr-icon-lastfm-09tgr-icon-vimeo-09tgr-icon-facebook-09

Donate

tgrdonate

Apple Store

Click here to visit the Apple Store through The Green Room.

Twitter

Archives

Categories


